Published On: Fri, Nov 14th, 2014

ALTA recognizes partners in leadership and innovation

German EfromovichMIAMI - ALTA, the Latin America & Caribbean Air Transport Association, presented two Federico Bloch awards this year as part of the 11th ALTA Airline Leaders Forum. One was awarded to Germán Efromovich, President of Synergy Group and Chairman of the Board of Directors of Avianca and another was presented to Roberto Kriete, Cofounder of Avianca Holdings S.A. & Member of its Board of Directors. Both leaders demonstrated outstanding leadership and vision in the industry of aviation.

Efromovich and Kriete conceived, negotiated and consummated a landmark deal that has fundamentally changed the commercial aviation landscape in Latin America and the Caribbean and precipitated other substantial consolidation activity in the region. The Grupo Synergy-Grupo TACA merger is one of two airlines coming from positions of strength and becoming stronger together. In the spirit of entrepreneurship, innovation, cooperation and integrity the panel of jurors unanimously decided to award the Federico Bloch recognitions to German Efromovich and Roberto Kriete. The award honors the memory of Federico Bloch, a pioneer in Latin American aviation and the driving force behind the creation of Grupo TACA.

Germán Efromovich, stated: "It is a true honor for me to receive the Federico Bloch award, presented by the Latin American and Caribbean Air Transport Association to those who have distinguished themselves as promoters of the development of the aviation industry in the region. With profound personal satisfaction I wish to share it with each and every one of the collaborators related to the airlines in the Avianca group. Today we can see ahead of us a promising future, for which we are now preparing through modernization, expansion and improvements in the industry".

Roberto Kriete concluded, "It is an honor to be recognized with an award that commemorates the legacy of my friend and colleague Federico Bloch, a pioneer in Latin American aviation with whom we shared the vision of a united region through commercial aviation. This recognition reassures my conviction in working towards the development of this industry, which is not only my work but my passion in integrating Latin America and facilitating growth and new opportunities. I have always believed that the key to a successful business is its people, that talent that melds teams together. This award is a recognition to their commitment."

Prior award recipients have included Enrique Cueto, Constantino de Oliveira Jr., Mauricio Botelho, Robert Booth, Pedro Heilbron, Enrique Beltranena, Matías Campiani, David Neeleman, Andrés Conesa and Alex de Gunten..

No winner was named for the Rolim Amaro award this year.

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: