Published On: Mon, Aug 31st, 2015

NBC Universo to air qualifying match between Curaçao and El Salvador

soccer-curacao-fifaWILLEMSTAD - NBC UNIVERSO ( is a modern sports and entertainment cable channel for Latinos, bringing the world's top sports franchises and edgy programming to more than 40 million households in the U.S.

This channel will exclusively air the dramatic third leg for the home and away series of the upcoming CONCACAF FIFA World Cup Russia 2018TM qualifying matches featuring El Salvador and Curaçao.

The first of the two matches live on NBC UNIVERSO will take place on Fri., Sept.4 when Curaçao host El Salvador at 7:00 p.m. ET / 4:00 p.m. PT. On Tues., Sept. 8 live on NBC UNIVERSO, Curaçao will travel to Central America for the return leg against El Salvador with coverage beginning at 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT. Providing play-by-play and commentary for the Sept. 4 match will be the award-winning Andrés Cantor and experienced sportscaster Copan Alvarez. Then on Sept. 8 veteran announcer Sammy Sadovnik will join Alvarez for the call.

El Salvador currently holds the 110th position in the FIFA Ranking, while Curaçao is ranked 148th. Curaçao kicked off its Russia 2018 qualifying campaign with a 4-3 aggregate defeat of Montserrat in the first round. The Caribbean islanders have put their faith in a group of players who have club football experience in Europe. Curaçao, which joined the FIFA family in 2011, made their FIFA World Cup™ qualifying debut in the Brazil 2014 campaign, going out in the second round. The team has never qualified for a World Cup.

El Salvador is a young side looking to establish themselves. Jorge Rodriguez, who has just been handed the managerial reins of El Salvador by the Federación Salvadoreña de Fútbol, will look to guide the team to the World Cup. Rodriguez replaces Albert Rocha, who resigned on July 17 after the Cuscatlecos were eliminated from the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup.


Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: