Published On: Wed, Jan 18th, 2017

Consular Corps of Curaçao gets new board

CCC-2017-Board_01WILLEMSTAD - A new Board of the Consular Corps of Curaçao was appointed at the recent annual general meeting. Karel Frielink, honorary consul of Germany, was appointed the new Dean. The other board members appointed were Margaret Hawthorne (U.S. Consul General) as Vice-Dean, Ivan Moreno Jr. (honorary consul of Belgium) as Treasurer, Paul van de Laarschot (honorary consul of Hungary) as Secretary and Paul Pradin (honorary consul of France) as Member.

The Consular Corps of Curaçao represents 33 countries. Its members serve as consul general, vice-consul, or honorary consul. They assist citizens from the countries they represent visiting or living in Curaçao in some legal and consular matters. They also work to promote good relations between Curaçao and the country they represent.

In his acceptance speech, the new Dean has called on the Curaçao government to take the necessary measures to ensure that the Directorate of Foreign Affairs will be fully staffed as soon as possible. Given the number and nature of consular matters, it is of the utmost importance that members of the Consular Corps can closely work together with the Curaçao Directorate of Foreign Affairs.

The new Dean also stated that the Consular Corps of Curaçao will do whatever it can to support and facilitate the government of Curaçao in building and maintaining meaningful relationships with other countries. The Consular Corps will be more visible via social media, for instance through informing the public in Curaçao about consular matters.

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: