Published On: Wed, Jun 15th, 2016

Kingdom Visa Law adopted, motion VVD rejected

Dutch ParliamentTHE HAGUE - The Lower House of the Dutch Parliament today unanimously agreed with the Kingdom Visa Law, which allows Curaçao, Aruba, St. Maarten and the Netherlands to determine together which countries do and which ones do not need visa requirements.

A motion in which the ruling party VVD asked for a better migration police for immigrants from Curaçao and Aruba was rejected, despite the support of the Dutch Minister of Foreign Affairs Bert Koenders. The Kingdom Visa Law was debated last week in parliament with the participation of the special delegates of Curaçao, Aruba and Sint Maarten.

The debate focused mainly on the situation in Venezuela and the extent to which countries are prepared for any problems. VVD MP Han ten Broeke weakened a proposed motion. In the final version, he expressed the concern that Aruba and Curaçao have insufficient insight into the number of illegal Venezuelans and called on Koenders to insist on a clearer admission and screening policy for Venezuelans.

But in the House, Ten Broeke was just not able to find a majority for his proposal. The PvdA, D66, Christian Union and GroenLinks and other smaller factions voted against.

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: