Published On: Wed, Nov 2nd, 2016

Curaçao’s new parliament sworn in by Governor Lucille George-Wout

parliamentWILLEMSTAD – 20 new Members of Parliament were sworn in today to represent the people of Curaçao in the legislative branch of Government.

Only the leader of the opposition party MFK was not present to be sworn in. Gerrit Schotte is currently not on the island and will be sworn in this coming Monday at 9:30 in the morning.

First time MPs are

Eugene Rhuggenaath (PAR
Marilyn Alcala-Walle (PAR)
Edward Braam (PAR)
Amparo dos Santos (KdNT)
Norberto Ribeiro (KdNT)
Menki Rojer (KdNT
Elsa Rozendaal (MAN)
Giselle McWilliam (MAN)
Kenneth Gijsbertha (MAN)
Ruthmilda Larmonie-Cecilia (Pueblo Soberano)
Charetti Francisca (MFK)

Former Independent MPs Omayra Leeflang and Marilyn Moses now represent their own parties in parliament, Un Korsou Hustu, and Movementu Progressivo respectively.

In the coming weeks, there will be some changes in Parliament since a few of those who were sworn in today will be appointed as Ministers. The will have to resign from Parliament before being appointed as Ministers.

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: