Published On: Wed, May 7th, 2014

CARICOM Triennial Award for Women selection process begins

CaricomCARICOM Secretariat, Turkeyen, Greater Georgetown, Guyana - The selection process for the eleventh CARICOM Triennial Award for Women 2014 got underway in Bridgetown, Barbados on Monday.  The Selection Committee comprised representatives from Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Haiti, Jamaica and Montserrat. This year there were eight nominees from five Member States.

The aim of the Award is to honour a Caribbean Woman who has made an outstanding contribution to the development of the Community. The recipient of the CARICOM Triennial Award will receive a 15 carat gold brooch/pendant with the CARICOM logo presented in a jewel box, as well as a scroll with a citation in a leather cylindrical holder.

The Eleventh CARICOM Triennial Award for Women will be presented this year at the Opening Ceremony of the Thirty-fifth Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government to be held in Antigua and Barbuda in July 2014.

Since its inception, ten distinguished individuals have been recipients of this Award. Listed below are the recipients who have made significant contributions to politics and academics in their respective countries and to the Region:

  • Ms Nesta Patrick of Trinidad and Tobago, 1984
  • Dame Nita Barrow of Barbados, 1987 (deceased)
  • Dr Peggy Antrobus of St Vincent and the Grenadines, 1990
  • Ms Magda Pollard of Guyana, 1993
  • Dr Lucille Mathurin Mair of Jamaica, 1996 (deceased)
  • Professor Joycelin Massiah of Guyana/Barbados, 1999
  • Professor Rhoda Reddock of Trinidad and Tobago, 2002
  • Justice Desiree Bernard of Guyana, 2005
  • Professor Barbara Evelyn Bailey of Jamaica, 2008; and
  • Professor V. Eudine Barriteau of Barbados, 2011.

The selection committee has arrived at a recommendation of the two top candidates who will be presented to the Council on Human and Social Development (COHSOD) being held in Georgetown, Guyana on 14 – 15 May, 2014 for a final decision.

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: