Published On: Wed, Sep 30th, 2015

Crisis in Sint Maarten – Government falls

sxm-Picture-St.-Maarten-ParliamentPHILLIPSBURG, St. Maarten– The Gumbs government fell shortly after 12.30 p.m. today (Wednesday, September 30, 2015) after the parliament passed a motion of no-confidence submitted by Democratic Party MP Sarah Wescot-Williams with an 8-7 vote. This is according to a report from the Daily Herald.

Coalition-members Silvio Matser, Maurice Lake and Frans Richardson defected and supported the motion of the opposition. This means that the country will soon have its fifth government since it became an autonomous country on 10-10-10.

In favor of the motion voted MPs Silveria Jacobs, Christophe Emmanuel, George Pantophlet, William Marlin (National Alliance), Sarah Wescot-Williams (Democratic Party), Frans Richardson (independent), Maurice Lake and Silvio Matser (United People’s party). The latter two will leave the UP-faction and declare themselves independent.

Against voted the UP-members Johan Leonard, Theo Heyliger, Tamara Leonard, Lloyd Richardson and Franklin Meyers and independent MPs Cornelius de Weever and Leona Marlin-Romeo.

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: