Published On: Mon, Sep 25th, 2017

CHATA announces the new chefs for the Curaçao Culinary Team 2018

22007834_10155227705429633_3904517977519156302_nWILLEMSTAD - On Saturday, CHATA announced the new chefs of the Curaçao Culinary Team 2018. The winners will represent Curaçao internationally at the Taste of the Caribbean competitions in Miami next year.

Every year, CHATA holds a Culinary Competition for local chefs and bartenders in order to select the new members of the Curaçao Culinary Team. The Curaçao Culinary Team consists of 4 chefs, 1 pastry chef and 1 bartender. During the course of that year the members of the team will receive regular trainings and coaching sessions by local and international culinary professionals in order to prepare them for the Culinary Competitions in Miami.

Last Saturday 12 Chefs competed for the honors of becoming part of the new Culinary Team. The winners were selected by a group of elite judges consisting of international celebrity chef Hans van Triest, winner of Caribbean Chef of the year 2006, Frans Smits (Capriles Kliniek), Jeroen van der Velden (Gouverneur), Carlos Anthonij (Nemo), Helmie Smeulders (Spice Girl), Mike Pastoor (Avila Beach Hotel) and Toon Kennis (Maris Stella). The proud sponsors of the culinary cooking competition are: Best Buy, Dani’s Fruit Center, Delinova, De Jongh Trophies, Firgos, Mangusa, Marnix College Cas Cora, the Papagayo Hotel, TUI and Twizt Catering

The new chefs of the Curaçao Culinary Team 2018 consist of the following participants:


CHATA also wants to congratulate the following participants for signing up and showcasing their talents at the competitions:


On Tuesday September 26th the second part of the Culinary Competitions will take place where bartenders will compete to secure a spot on the Curaçao Culinary Team 2018. The competition will take place at Licores Maduro, the Store. For more information and updates about the competition please visit

Chefs Culinary Team 2018 + Judges

Chefs Culinary Team 2018

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: