Published On: Wed, Mar 25th, 2015

Emmy® and Golden Globe® winning original series “Game of Thrones” returns to HBO for its fifth season

The new season begins Sunday, April 12th in the Caribbean during a worldwide premiere

game-of-thrones-season-4MIAMI – The global television phenomenon and highest rated series in the history of HBO, Game of Thrones, returns for its fifth season on Sunday, April 12th, simultaneously in 170 countries around the globe, including in the Caribbean. Based on the popular book series by George R.R. Martin, Games of Thrones is an epic drama set in a world where the struggle for power and the thirst for vengeance dominate the kingdoms.

After the shocking deaths of Joffrey, Tywin, Oberyn and Shae last season, a plethora of compelling storylines will play out to their inevitable, often bloody conclusions throughout this new season, with a power vacuum that the protagonists of Westeros and Essos look to fill. Season five features some of the most explosive scenes yet, as the promise that “winter is coming” becomes more ominous than ever before.

At Castle Black, Jon Snow struggles to balance the demands of the Night’s Watch with those of the newly-arrived Stannis Baratheon, who considers himself the rightful king of Westeros. Meanwhile, Cersei scrambles to hold on to power in King’s Landing amidst the Tyrells and the rise of a religious group led by the enigmatic High Sparrow, while Jaime embarks on a secret mission. Across the Narrow Sea, Arya seeks an old friend while Tyrion, now a fugitive, finds a new cause. And as danger mounts in Meereen, Daenerys finds that her tenuous hold on the city requires some hard sacrifices.

The fifth season of Game of Thrones was filmed in Croatia, Spain and Ireland on 151 sets over 240 days of production. This season includes the participation of 166 actors, over 1,000 cast and crew members, and 5,000 extras.

Returning cast includes Emmy® and Golden Globe winner Peter Dinklage (Tyrion Lannister), Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (Jaime Lannister), Lena Headey (Cersei Lannister), Emilia Clarke (Daenerys Targaryen), Aidan Gillen (Petyr “Littlefinger” Baelish), Kit Harington (Jon Snow), Diana Rigg (Lady Olenna Tyrell), Natalie Dormer (Margaery Tyrell), Maisie Williams (Arya Stark) and Sophie Turner (Sansa Stark). Other returning series regulars include Alfie Allen (Theon Greyjoy), John Bradley (Samwell Tarly), Dean-Charles Chapman (Tommen), Gwendoline Christie (Brienne of Tarth), Liam Cunningham (Davos Seaworth), Stephen Dillane (Stannis Baratheon), Nathalie Emmanuel (Missandei), Jerome Flynn (Bronn), Iain Glen (Jorah Mormont), Conleth Hill (Varys), Kristofer Hivju (Tormund Giantsbane), Michiel Huisman (Daario Naharis), Michael McElhatton (Roose Bolton), Iwan Rheon (Ramsay Snow), Carice van Houten (Melisandre) and Indira Varma (Ellaria Sand).

New cast members for the fifth season include Jonathan Pryce (the High Sparrow), Alexander Siddig (Doran Martell), DeObia Oparei (Areo Hotah), Keisha Castle-Hughes (Obara Sand), Rosabell Laurenti Sellers (Tyene Sand), Jessica Henwick (Nym Sand), Nell Tiger Free (Myrcella Baratheon) and Toby Sebastian (Trystane Martell).

Game of Thrones is executive produced by David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, Carolyn Strauss, Frank Doelger and Bernadette Caulfield; co-executive produced by Guymon Casady, Vince Gerardis and George R.R. Martin; with producers Chris Newman, Greg Spence, Lisa McAtackney and Bryan Cogman.

*Atlantic Standard Time. For information on the program schedule by country, consult your local cable operator, or<>.

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: