Published On: Fri, Sep 14th, 2012

Parliament submits ten motions of no confidence to the Governor

WILLEMSTAD - The motions of no confidence were submitted to Governor Frits Goedgedrag at 15:30 by Vice President  of the Parliament Anthony Godett. A majority of the Parliament adopted their own motions  in public meeting on Thursday September 13, they include a motion to send the demissionary government home.

Demissionary Ministers Carlos Trinidad and Hensley Koeiman will stay on until the appointment of an interim government. This is done to ensure that there is no vacuum in the government of the nation.

Short term
After the appointment of an informer or person who will form the government by the governor, then an interim government can be formed on a short term according to PAR lawmaker Dennis Jackson. Jackson denies that the formation of an interim government will postpone the elections.

Silvin Cijntje
Why the new President of Parliament Dean Rozier was not the one to submit the motions to the governor was not clear. According to Jackson, Rozier will be held accountable to the people for his absence. The status of the 'new parliament "is still unclear, as the Registrar Silvin Cijntje still follows order from the former President of Parliament Ivar Asjes. According to Jackson, Cijntje is not well aware of the rules and the appointment of Cijntje was a political one. Therefore Cijntje cannot act differently, according to Jackson.


Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: