Published On: Wed, Jul 18th, 2018

Constructive consultation between ministers of Justice Netherlands, Aruba, Curacao and Sint Maarten

conference ministers of justiceTHE HAGUE - Today, the Ministers of Justice Grapperhaus (Netherlands), Bikker (Aruba), Girigorie (Curaçao) and De Weever (Sint Maarten) came together for the semi-annual Justice Four-Party Consultation (JVO). This time in Bonaire, under the chairmanship of the Netherlands.

"My colleagues Bikker, Grigorie, De Weever and I can look back on an intensive and constructive consultation with satisfaction, and together we have emphasized how important it is that we celebrate together and join forces," said Minister Grapperhaus.

During the consultations the successful fight against organized crime was discussed and agreements were made to reinforce and renew the investigation cooperation. Agreements have also been made to improve border surveillance. In addition, extensive consideration was given to the implementation of the new European legislation for the exchange of personal data and the cooperation between the countries of the Kingdom.

At the end of the JVO, the four ministers, in the presence of a few fire service commanders, signed the cooperation agreement between the fire brigades of Curaçao, Aruba, Sint Maarten and the BES islands.

The next JVO will take place in January 2019 under the chairmanship of Aruba.

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: