Published On: Wed, Feb 15th, 2017

Consultations between the Governor and ‘group of eleven’ this morning

GovernorWILLEMSTAD - This morning at 9 o'clock, Governor Lucille George-Wout will meet with the 11 MPs who now form the new majority in Parliament. As was already reported, last night during an emergency meeting, the new majority adopted a motion of no confidence against seven ministers of the cabinet Koeiman. These ministers are from the political parties MAN, PAR and PNP. Only the ministers from Pueblo Soberano may remain in the government.

Yesterday, a motion was also adopted for the appointment of a new chairman and vice-chairman of the parliament. A provisional parliamentary speaker was chosen from their midst. Gilmar Pisas of the MFK was elected because he has served the longest in parliament.

Friday, as scheduled, parliament will be able to officially elect a new leadership. Norberto Ribeiro from Korsou di Nos Tur has been tapped for the seat of Vice-President. At the meeting yesterday only 11 Members of Parliament were present.

Besides the members of the coalition also Omayra Leeflang of Un Korsou Hustu was not present. The remaining ministers of the government Koeiman convened an urgent news conference. In it, the Prime Minister said among other things that there is an unprecedented power struggle whereby the government must, at all costs, be overthrown.


Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: