Published On: Mon, Feb 26th, 2018

Curaçao with important role in OCT organization

Prime Minister_OCTBRUSSELS, WILLEMSTAD - On Friday, February 23, 2018, Prime Minister Eugene Rhuggenaath and his delegation made a good impression during the #EU OCT conference in Brussels. For this year, Curaçao has been elected Vice-Chairman of the OCTs, which automatically means that the island will be the Chairman of the organization next year.

During Curaçao's presidency in 2019-2020, fundamental decisions will be taken regarding the (financial) relationship with the European Union and the OCT countries. It is up to the Prime Minister, as Chairman of the OCT organization, to accompany this important process in cooperation with all members, in order to reach the desired relationship with the European Union after 2020 when the Cotonou agreement expires in its current form.

The great trust of the other OCT members, representatives of the EU and countries in the Kingdom in Curaçao’s Prime Minister, has led the island once again (for the 2nd time in 4 years) to play an important role on the international stage. Curaçao is also still appointed as a member of the Executive Commission (ExCo) of the OCTs.

The OCT countries are:

1. Anguilla, Central America (United Kingdom)

2. Aruba, Central America (Netherlands)

3. Bermuda, North America (United Kingdom)

4. Bonaire, Central America (Netherlands)

5. British Virgin Islands, Central America (United Kingdom)

6. Cayman Islands, Central America (United Kingdom)

7. Curaçao, Central America (Netherlands)

8. Falkland Islands, South America (United Kingdom)

9. French Polynesia, Oceania (France)

10. French Southern and Antarctic Lands (France)

11. Greenland, North America (Denmark)

12. Montserrat, Central America (United Kingdom)

13. New Caledonia, Oceania (France)

14. Pitcairn Islands, Oceania (United Kingdom)

15. Saba, Central America (Netherlands)

16. Saint Barthélemy, Central America (France)

17. Sint Eustatius, Central America (Netherlands)

18. Saint Helena, Africa (United Kingdom)

19. Saint Pierre and Miquelon, North America (France)

20. Sint Maarten, Central America (Netherlands)

21. Turks & Caicos Islands, Central America (United Kingdom)

22. Wallis and Futuna, Oceania (France)

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: