Published On: Wed, Jul 23rd, 2014

Government of Curacao shares in the national day of mourning

10570537_568626843260024_9201056619911117712_nWILLEMSTAD - Prime Minister Ivar Asjes announced, on behalf of the government of Curaçao, that the government shares in the national day of mourning which was declared by the Dutch government on Wednesday, July 23, 2014. This implies that all departments, organizations and the government will fly the flag at half-mast throughout the day. The government also appeals to the community to hold together with the Dutch community at 10 am a minute of silence, which corresponds to 4 pm Dutch time. On Wednesday, the Council of Ministers will hold a minute's silence during their weekly meeting.

With this expression of sympathy the government and our community share in the pain and immense sadness that the family of each victim will experience after the tragic events of flight MH17 of the Malaysia Airlines. This tragedy has claimed the lives of 193 victims of Dutch nationality, including Kevin Jesurun​​, born in Curaçao on January 29, 1971.

On behalf of the Government and the people of Curacao, Prime Minister Ivar Asjes visited the mother of our compatriot last weekend to share the suffering that the family is facing in this tragedy. The Foreign Relations Department of the Ministry of General Affairs also provides the necessary support to the family, friends and acquaintances with regards to contact with the crisis center in the Netherlands.

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: