Published On: Wed, May 11th, 2016

Parliament debates on traffic safety

TrafficWILLEMSTAD – Six ministers were present during the parliamentary debate on traffic safety on the island. They were invited by parliament to debate on the status of the establishment and operation of a traffic authority.

The MPs indicated that they do not want to discuss road safety, but want the government to take steps to ensure safety.

The ministers were Suzanne Camelia-Römer of Traffic, Transportation and Spatial Planning, Nelson Navarro of Justice, Siegfried Victorina of Public Health, Eugene Rhuggenaath of Economic Development, Ruthmilda Larmonie-Cecilia of Labor and Social Development and Etienne van der Horst of Government Services. According to the MPs there were too many ministers present. Independent MP, Omayra Leeflang stressed that it is actually Minister Navarro who is responsible since the police are the ones in charge of traffic. On the other hand, the leader of the PAR faction, Zita Jesus-Leito would have liked to see the entire Cabinet in Parliament.

PAR requested the meeting, but other MPs said that they didn’t think it had much sense to talk about traffic. They all stressed that it was time for the government to take action.

Melvin Cijntje MP concludes that the government is not taking parliament seriously. “Therefore the government should receive a clear message that it cannot continue like this.” He also cited the fact that new license applicants still have exams based on traffic laws of 1957, while there is a new law adopted since 2002. “Licenses are actually handed out as gifts this way. Young people are not well prepared. The government therefore has no moral authority to talk about anything,” Cijntje stressed.

Ruling party Pueblo Soberano (PS) indicated that they will come with a motion to appoint experts in various fields to form a team with the aim of informing the public and Parliament on the steps to be taken.

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: