Published On: Mon, Nov 23rd, 2015

Political parties sign agreement to form new government

CoalitionWILLEMSTAD - With the support of the former opposition party PAR, there is a new coalition based on the support of twelve seats in parliament. This government will finish the 4 year term until next election 10 months from now.

Yesterday the leaders of the various parliamentary factions signed the coalition agreement to form the Cabinet Whiteman 2.

“My work as the ‘formateur’ of the new government is over,” said Prime Minister Ben Whiteman, visibly relieved that the leaders of the Pueblo Soberano (PS), PAIS, PNP, PAR and Independent MP Glenn Sulvaran have come reached an agreement.

At the beginning of this month, the negotiations between the parties came to a halt because of PAR’s demand for the Minister Plenipotentiary in The Hague, Marvelyne Wiels to be replaced. The ruling party PS did not agree with this and instructed their Prime Minister to present his resignation and that of his government to the Governor. PAR then agreed to appoint their candidate as Deputy Minister Plenipotentiary, therefore sacrificing PNP’s appointee Robert Candelaria.

Photo credit: Yves Cooper

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: