Published On: Wed, Aug 6th, 2014

Winners Endless Summer Sports Festival 2014

Van der Wolde, Da Silva De Goes, Richie en de Bell absolute windsurf winners at the Endless Summer Sports Festival 2014

Surfers Racing 2IMG_0699 (2)WILLEMSTAD - Last weekend, from Friday August 1 to Sunday August 3, the second edition of the “Endless Summer Sports Festival” took place in Curacao, at the beautiful location of St Joris Bay. Organized by the “Old school Windsurfers St. Jorisbaai” as a fundraising for the “Fundashon St Jorisbaai”, a non-profit organization who give local kids the opportunity to develop their talents in sports that they otherwise couldn’t afford, the event counted with the support of lots of volunteers and many great sponsors like Polar and Flow. The successful event had competitions in different sports like Windsurf, Kite Surf, Mountain Bike (MTB), Running, Fishing, and great activities for all ages.

WINDSURF: The windsurf division counted with 38 participants from Curaçao, Bonaire and the Netherlands, competing in the categories of PRO-Open class, Old School 18+ class, Boys Under 18 class and Girls class. With very good winds varying between 18 to 25 knots during the 3 days of competition, the windsurfers raced 5 downwind Slalom heats and 5 course race heats for a total of 10 heats raced. This amount of races allowed for three discards, validating officially 7 heats for the final results.

Boys U18 Class at PodiumIMG_0885 (2)RESULTS: After 3 days of competition of very good level, the results were as follows: In the PRO-Open Class, an equal points for the 1st place, led to an extra spectacular race, between the multiple Dutch champion formula racing from the Netherlands and one of our local champions, where the first place stayed home as our local talent and World Champion 2011 Jean Patrick van der Wolde (CUR-191) was the happy winner. The 2nd place was for Dennis Littel (NED-13), and 3rd place for Richard Konstapel (CUR-20). Old School 18+ class: In this class the fastest was Richard Richie (CUR-182) in the 1st place, 2nd place was for Perry van der Wolde (CUR-19), and 3rd place was for Remco Osnabrugge (NC-9). In the Boys Under 18 class our local talent and World Champion 2013 Jean Paul Da Silva De Goes (CUR-914) won the 1st place, the 2nd place went for Delano Moreno (CUR-23) and the 3rd place went for Jurgen Saragoza (NB-117) from Bonaire. Girls class: 1st place Marjenka de Bell (CUR-52), 2nd place Anne Coenen (CUR-56) and 3rd place Alyssa Wijnand (NB-50) from Bonaire.

A big thanks goes to the “Old School Windsurfers St Jorisbaai” for organizing this spectacular event. Also thanks to all the families and volunteers who gave the “Fundashon St. Joris” a hand in one-way or another. Last but not least, a special thanks to all the sponsors. Without their help this event couldn’t have been possible.

Click Tag(s) for Related Articles: